A good strong breeze for the last race of the season. We anticipated an exhausting beat back from Wallet No. 3, but kind hearted Race Officer Wendy Robinson set a shorter course, with the North Eagle as the outer mark, to be visited twice.

Nineteen boats on the Stone start line, Kev Knox’s ‘Barcarol’ the only one with a reef in the main, some with small jibs, but many with full genoas. ‘Geronimo’ and ‘Poohstick’ were over the line at the start and had to return, while ‘Blue Moon’ set the pace with the immediate launch of her large spinnaker, followed by most others. We selected our small one, definitely the right decision! A fast run to WM3, a gybe for WM2, with the First Class 8s in the lead, a fetch to WM1, then off to the Colne Bar and the North Eagle.

At this stage, all downhill, the order at the front was ‘Geronimo’, ‘Aloha’, ‘Moon Shadow’, ‘Crazy Suzy’, ‘Blue Moon’, ‘Breezy’. A beat back to NW Knoll, a beam reach up to the Inner bench Head and a fetch back to the Bench Head, another run to the North Eagle, with a few broaches observed (and experienced), then the start of the long beat home, when different capabilities would be to the fore, and the order substantially changed. Crew weight was a big factor, and many boats could have done with a bit more on the rail.

After quite  a short race – just under five and a half hours for the first boat home, the deserving winner was a big tough boat with a big tough crew – Joe Leary’s First 29 ‘Breezy’. Second was Peter Copsey’s ‘Triton’, always one to show amazing upwind speed in a blow, and third Alan Hoy’s First 25.7 ‘Dan Dare’, in an excellent performance.

In IRC ‘Triton’ beat ‘Blue Moon’, with Malcolm Holland’s First 27.7  ‘Behave’ third.


First – ‘Breezy’ – Joe Leary – Blackwater SC

Second – ‘Triton’ – Peter Copsey – Blackwater SC

Third – ‘Dan Dare’ – Alan Hoy – Blackwater SC

The full BJRC result here


First – ‘Triton’ – Peter Copsey – Blackwater SC

Second – ‘Blue Moon’ – Richard Robarts – Marconi SC

Third – ‘Behave’ – Malcolm Holland – Maldon Little Ship Club

The full IRC result here


It was all going to depend on the weather, and in a strong wind it was unlikely that either ‘Sophie’ or ‘Moondance’ would improve on their overall scores, leaving ‘August Sky’ as potentially the boat to gain most. And so it proved, ‘August Sky’s fifth place in the final race bringing her total down to 16 points, just behind ‘Sophie’s 15. ‘Dan Dare’s third place brought her down to 19 points, level with ‘Moondance’, but the tie is broken in favour of ‘Moondance’, with a first place.


1 – ‘Sophie’ – Guy Hawkins – Blackwater SC – 15 points

2 – ‘August Sky’ – Maurice Mutimer – Blackwater SC – 16 points

3 – ‘Moondance’ – Rod Martin – Harlow Blackwater SC – 19 points

(Tie broken with one first place)

4 – ‘Dan Dare’ – Alan Hoy – Blackwater SC – 19 points

5 – ‘Triton’ – Peter Copsey – Blackwater SC – 25 points

6 – ‘Soprano’ – Pat Murphy – Blackwater SC – 27 points

(Tie broken with one second place)

The full BJRC series result here


1 – ‘Triton’ – Peter Copsey – Blackwater SC  – 6 points

2 – ‘Absolution’ – Eric Reynolds – Maylandsea Bay YC – 8 points

(Tie broken with 3 first places)

3 –  ‘Blue Moon’ – Richard Robarts – Marconi SC – 8 points

The full IRC Series result here


1 – Blackwater SC – ‘Breezy’, ‘August Sky’, ‘Dan Dare’ – 6 points

2 – Marconi SC – ‘Blue Moon’, ‘Caroline’, ‘Ned Kelly’ – 31 points

3 – Maldon Little Ship Club – ‘Barcarol’, ‘Behave’, ‘Geronimo’ – 34 points

The full BJRC 2016 Roll of Honour will appear in a separate Newsletter later this week.